//
you're reading...
charity, cycling, endurance, fun, running

An advanced version of the little train that could

Are you stuck behind a desk?

Is your day workout the walk to the car and snacks in the break room?

Workout vicariously through this blog post.

To begin, I have not updated my blog recently for a little more than a week.  I apologize.

Visualize this – A key jolts the tumblers of the bolt lock to my door. My foot crosses the threshold. Simultaneously a brain turns to an unrecognizable blob resembling a jar of jelly that breaks as it falls out of the fridge door.  Writing at night is increasingly difficult.

In case you wonder – I am still working out at 5 a.m. The brain cannot put up as much of a fight not to work out as it can when you get home after a long day. I suppose it is habit by now.

I meticulously keep a workout diary. After finishing sets of weights, running, swimming, or biking I record my progress. I highly recommend this practice because it helps you know about your accomplishments and track soreness so you can avoid injury.

For instance, I have accomplished the following things in the past three days:

  • Weights…and more weights – everything from bench press to pull ups
  • 30 minutes of kickboxing
  • 30 minutes of pilates
  • A 15-mile bike ride
  • Walked 2 miles
  • Ran 5 miles (cough…uurm I walked somewhat too)
  • Swam 1,000 yards
  • Conquered a brutal spinning class this morning (7/28)…

…and swam 1300 yards this evening.

Now – for those of you in the training program that are reading this post you’re probably thinking to yourself why so much – this is supposed to be a recovery week, right?

It is a recovery week according to the schedule – I had some conflicts last week that hindered my ability to go to my typical swimming practice and join everyone on Saturday for the brick workout. So I need to count that as a lot of recovery time. I even gained a couple of pounds.  I am supposed to become lighter so this stuff gets easier. I will say that I do not think my body has been this capable, or strong – ever! That is a cool perk.

Side note: How appropriate that Kanye’s song Stronger just came on my Pandora account…”what doesn’t kill me will only make me stronger

This stuff is getting hard and taking its toll. I am not sure how my other teammates are doing, but finding time to workout, fundraise and work is rough! Then again – I need to keep some focus:

1.    This is for charity! (p.s. please donate http://pages.teamintraining.org/nca/nattri09/mingram)
2.    If triathlons were easy – everyone would do them. I see myself as a more advanced version of the little train that could.

Are you in a Team in Training event? Are you training for an endurance event…any tips on juggling everything?

Discussion

One thought on “An advanced version of the little train that could

  1. Hey Matt!

    You asked about any suggestions for juggling everything – TnT training and fundraising, life, and that pesky work thing….the best advice I can give you as someone who has always burned the candle at both ends is 1) schedule everything 2) prioritize things 3) have a Plan B 4) Don’t worry when 1-3 fall apart because all you can do is all you can do.

    Best of luck to you!

    Posted by Ariel Lotz | July 29, 2009, 7:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Welcome

I hope you enjoy my personal blog. I'll publish posts on various topics and voice my opinions on an eclectic array of things.

Find me on Twitter @mbingram

Subscribe via RSS

Categories

Information

  • 86,023 views
Blog Created On: July 28, 2008 E-mail: crossover65@hotmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

