//
you're reading...
charity, cycling, endurance, fun, running, social life, sports

7/4: 1 good workout, 2 slightly embarrassing falls

I have been working out a lot over the past two days to catch up since my injury on Tuesday (6/30).

cyclistI rode my bike for more than an hour and a half this morning (7/4) though a good 40 minutes or so was probably puttering around the White House, the Washington Monument and the U.S. Capitol. No one was out around 6 a.m. except for police and plainclothes secret service agents. (It is a little hard to blend it when no one else is around.) Many of the roads around DC were closed to traffic so I could pick up some awesome speed and get down into my third position (not sure if that is the official term, but where you use the bottom part of the handle bars).

BTW – it finally happened, actually it happened twice this morning. I fell down while clipped into my pedals. Once was while going down a small bike path in D.C. – thankfully no one was around; the second fall was a block or two away from where I live at an intersection. The falls were slightly embarrassing and left a couple of bruises, but I’ll live.

I finally got home and felt a little worn out so I donned some normal shorts and workout shirt to hit the gym instead of going on a run back into D.C. I did my core workout, abs, back and a ton of other things and then hit the treadmill to keep the blood flowing.

Overall, my endurance level is definitely rising to meet the challenge of a triathlon. I am able to do a whole lot of activity over a sustained amount of time. I am losing weight too which is great! I weighed in at 197 lbs at the gym today, down from 211 lbs two months ago.

Now – I’m all showered and ready for lunch and then a NAP before the fireworks at MH’s apartment overlooking D.C.

Happy Fourth of July Everyone!

Discussion

One thought on “7/4: 1 good workout, 2 slightly embarrassing falls

  1. Hey Matt —

    I’m so sorry that I never saw that you have been leaving comments on my blog! Thanks for that – atleast I know someone is reading it. 🙂

    I had no idea that you’ve been through so much trauma lately! Could have fooled me.

    But, yes, I would definitely be up for a swim or a training session sometime – maybe grab a bite to eat sometime. Sundays would probably work best. I always work out in the morning before work. How about you?

    Keep up the awesome training!

    Also – how was the group brick today?

    Posted by Ashley | July 12, 2009, 5:00 am

Leave a Reply

Welcome

I hope you enjoy my personal blog. I'll publish posts on various topics and voice my opinions on an eclectic array of things.

Find me on Twitter @mbingram

Subscribe via RSS

Categories

Information

  • 86,023 views
Blog Created On: July 28, 2008 E-mail: crossover65@hotmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

