//
you're reading...
charity, fun, running, social life, sports

Ambition takes hold – 3 disciplines, one day

Time to Wake Up

My morning routine is becoming ever more acceptable. I wake up at 5:00 a.m. everyday with ease. (Fun fact: 99.9 percent of readers polled stated that the thought of waking up that early made them tired with a sudden craving for Starbucks.)

And what do you do at 5:00 a.m.?

I attend the Sport & Health gym on N. Kirkwood in Arlington. My gym is quiet and empty at this early hour.

Please don’t get me wrong, I am still tired, but I have enough energy to move. My walk towards the weight room entrance slows as I yield my energy to a pair of on-coming yawns. During this workout I am following my triathlon training guide. I need to do some strength exercises because I forgot to do it on Monday.

I am not done…

I am not done yet. I tell myself that I ran up the stairs to the bank of treadmills. Realistically, I would have given a tortoise an ego boost going up those stairs. I reach my destination. I ran for 30 minutes and covered 2.5 miles. I am done.

I would have welcomed a small rain shower on the way home. I am hot and sweaty.

[Story Intermission: I went to work and I worked. I left work]

I left work too late to join my company softball game. Tyson’s Corner traffic was a pain. (Do you live/work in McLean? How is the traffic treating you?) Plan 2 comes into effect – get home in time for the Conte’s Tuesday night ride.

I get home in time to change and race out the door. I might just make the beginning of the ride. The beginning is the coolest because the Arlington Police Department temporarily blocks off the road for all of the cyclists. We number somewhere close to 60 cyclists.

This is not a typical bike ride. This is my first bike ride wearing clip in shoes with pedals. Did I make it in time for the ride? In short, yes. Did I nearly fall with my bike to the ground trying to unclip and stand up at an intersection? In short, yes. (If you are a cyclist, do you remember your first few times using clip in shoes? How did it go?)

We proceed to Military Road, a natural and uncompromising series of hills. My heart pumps fast and I sweat. I attempt to chat with a few fellow cyclists along the way. I fear my need for oxygen might have hindered what could have been some great conversations. I take my fill of hills and leave to head home.

Ambition takes hold…

I do not relax when I get home. I urge myself to don my swimming trucks. The Washington and Lee High School pool is one block away from my house. I give in to my ambition’s desire to wear myself out for the day. I swim for 30 minutes and do (12) 25 meter laps.

I still need to work on my breathing technique, but I think I have improved. I will see how Thursday morning’s swim practice goes before making any solid claims about improvements.

A welcoming sofa…

The short walk home is quickly followed by a shower and dinner. I have accomplished workouts in all three disciplines. I am not exhausted, buy my body is in need of rest. I relax on the sofa for a while to go over my accomplishments and watch the news.

I think this whole triathlon thing will be fun and most importantly achievable.

Thanks for reading.

Matt

Whether you are family, friends or a random person that found my blog, please help my cause and sponsor me in the Nation’s Triathlon: http://pages.teamintraining.org/nca/nattri09/mingram

Every tax-deductible dollar you donate will help the life of someone in need.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Ambition takes hold – 3 disciplines, one day

  1. FYI, indoor pools like Washington Lee are usually yards, and outdoor pools are usually meters. Hence, your time in a 50 free will be about 2.7 seconds faster in a yard pool than meter pool 😛

    Posted by Alison | June 18, 2009, 3:06 am
  2. Oops, thanks for the catch. So I covered more distance than I was thinking! Score. I just came back from my Thursday group swim. I am exhausted.

    Posted by Matt | June 18, 2009, 11:24 am
  3. Great job Matt!!!! Are you really getting up every morning at 5am? You are a more ambitious triathlon training then I am! Morning swim practice was good today – good luck at yours on Thursday :o)

    Posted by Sue Schneider | June 23, 2009, 11:35 am
    • Yes I do. though for most of this week I have woken up and gone to work rather than to the gym. I have had a few pressing things that I have had to get done. Sooo definitely fingers crossed for tomorrow at the swim practice. Hopefully we get some amazing weather for our practice on Saturday. See you then!

      Posted by Matt | June 24, 2009, 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Welcome

I hope you enjoy my personal blog. I'll publish posts on various topics and voice my opinions on an eclectic array of things.

Find me on Twitter @mbingram

Subscribe via RSS

Categories

Information

  • 86,023 views
Blog Created On: July 28, 2008 E-mail: crossover65@hotmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

