//
you're reading...
charity

Community Service in Washington DC

I attended a William & Mary community service committee meeting last night (7/30) and learned a lot about charities in the area. What else is better than sharing how you can get involved? If you want to learn any more than what I write below, please e-mail me and I’ll put you in touch with all of the right people.

These charities need help from as many people as possible. We were introduced to ~5 charities last night. Writing about each one in one post could very well lead to eye fatigue sooooo….I’ll feature one at a time over the next week. The first one I’ll feature is the one that really caught my eye. It is a long term commitment; however made me feel like it would carry the most personal reward.

Southeast White House Volunteer Mentoring

“One of our primary goals is to pair out children with loving, consistent, adult friends”

Program Overview:

The SEWH Volunteer Mentoring program matches committed adults with children, ages 6-16, from Southeast DC. Through the development of healthy mentoring relationships we hope to see children:

  • Avoid the criminal justice system
  • Avoid teen pregnancy
  • graduate from high school
  • and improve interpersonal social skills

Commitment:

The decision to mentor is a decision to start a new relationship. All friendships take time and commitment to develop and strengthen. For that reason, volunteer mentors are asked to pledge:

  • A minimum of one year to the relationship
  • To meet with his/her mentee for at least 10 hours per month
  • To call weekly
  • To keep a log of their activities

If you’re interested in finding out more about this charity e-mail the program coordinator, Allison Moller, sekids@gmail.com.

The program can also be reached at

2909 Pennsylvania Ave SE
Washington, DC 20020

Phone: 202-575-3337
Fax: 202-575-2909
E-mail: sekids@gmail.com

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Community Service in Washington DC

  1. Enjoyed reading your blog today, it was fun and informative, though stumped me on some of those problems.
    It’s great to see you are so civic minded.
    I have a child you can start mentoring right here. He is in need of a big brother and a mentor. If you are interesed let me know.
    Also, if you are looking for a charity, look no further, “charity starts at home” or in this case in the family.
    I am the Chairperson for RRAF, this is the day training facility Kris attends with 29 other adults with severe and profound diagnoses, many with autism. We would be greatly appreciative if you could have us listed with Booz Allen as a designated charity. I think your fellow employees would all get more satisfaction out of knowing that a family member actually benefitted from their contributions.

    Posted by Diane | August 3, 2008, 1:37 pm
  2. I can’t promise anything, but I’ll look to see how one goes about that.

    Posted by matthewbingram | August 5, 2008, 12:07 am

Leave a Reply

Welcome

I hope you enjoy my personal blog. I'll publish posts on various topics and voice my opinions on an eclectic array of things.

Find me on Twitter @mbingram

Subscribe via RSS

Categories

Information

  • 84,474 views
Blog Created On: July 28, 2008 E-mail: crossover65@hotmail.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

